Case study – Youssef Ebrik

What is your nationality?YE

Palestinian.

What/when did you study at Durham?

I received my MSc Finance degree from Durham in January 2014.

What are you doing now – employer and role?

 I am currently an Associate with KPMG‘s Deal Advisory team in the UAE.

 What does your job involve? 

My job mainly involves working on mergers & acquisitions from a due diligence perspective.

 How did your time at Durham help you to succeed? 

I have learned a lot from my time at Durham. Other than improving my technical skills and learning more about my field of interest through the classes I took and the career events I attended, my soft skills were also enhanced by interacting with people from different backgrounds.

What advice would you give to current students? 

My advice to current students would be to first figure out what they want to do, take classes which are relevant to their field of interest, and glean as much as they can from the classes since those skills will be applied in their careers. Also, a very important bit would be to network as much as possible. Career events are usually a good place to start.

Leave a Reply

