Case study – Kristina Hagen

What is your nationality?kristina hagen new

I am American.

What/when did you study at Durham?

BA in Politics and Sociology, 2006-2010

What are you doing now?

I am the Caucus Services Director for the Virginia Senate Democratic Caucus.

What does your job involve?

I work directly with the offices of the 19 Democrats serving in the Virginia Senate. I provide communications and press support through our legislative session and strategic support through the campaign season. This is an election year in Virginia, with all 40 Senate seats up for election, so I am working with our candidates to recruit staff and build campaign plans to ensure that we can win back the majority in November.

How did your time at Durham help you to succeed?

I gained a solid academic foundation through my BA program but I also learned a lot outside the classroom. My degree in Politics and Sociology was a great platform from which to grow, and through my work with my JCR and with the DSU I learned how to organize and lead. This is what makes me an effective political operative.

What advice would you give to current students?

Get involved! There is nothing stronger for a recent graduate’s resume than Durham’s combination of academic excellence and opportunities for civic engagement.

 

Leave a Reply

