Case study – Nida Junaid

What is your nationality?Nida

Pakistani.

What/when did you study at Durham?

MSc Accounting and Finance 2009

What are you doing now?

I was hired by Serco Middle East as Assistant Revenue Planning Manager. Serco is running the operations of Dubai Metro system in the United Arab Emirates along with other facilities and management services for different organizations. I was primarily in the Dubai Metro Finance Team responsible for handling Revenue Operations. After 4 years of service I joined the United Arab Emirates University as a Finance Instructor. This University is based in Alain, UAE and is the largest Government sector University in the region.

What does your job involve?

My job is pure finance since I teach all the principle and advanced courses in finance including “Principles of Financial Management”, ” Corporate Finance” and “Banking Operations Management”.

How did your time at Durham help you to succeed?

My time at Durham has definitely given me the boost I needed in my career. The name Durham in itself is a source of pride for me, however all the finance and accounting courses I was taught were very useful in both the roles in my respective organizations.

What advice would you give to current students?

All the best and yes, you should hold the pride in yourself to be graduating from a top tier University in the UK.

Leave a Reply

