Case Study – Isabella Grotto

What is your nationality?Isabella Grotto

I am a dual citizen, British and Italian. I was born and raised in Italy and moved to the UK to attend university.

What/when did you study at Durham?

I studied Philosophy, Politics and Economics at Durham between 2010 and 2013.

What are you doing now?

I am currently working as a financial reporter for a business to business magazine, but I am waiting to start my new job as an officer on the Metropolitan Police’s Police Now graduate scheme in July.

What does your job involve?

My role as a reporter involves coming up with ideas for stories, as well as researching, writing and conducting interviews.
In my new role on the Police Now Programme, my job will involve building partnerships with residents and organisations in my borough with the aim of reducing and preventing crime, increasing people’s confidence in the police and ultimately bettering living conditions within some of London’s most challenging areas.

How did your time at Durham help you to succeed?

My time at Durham has been invaluable in helping me achieve the career objectives I have so far. Being a Durham graduate helped me secure my first job as a financial reporting intern, despite not having a journalism qualification or any experience outside of writing for my school newspaper and the Palatinate.
Applying for the Police Now scheme, my academic background helped me to stand out from other candidates, but it also ensured I performed well at the assessment centre, producing outstanding work even under pressure (much like my university exams!) and expressing myself coherently and confidently in interviews.

What advice would you give to current students?

The first piece of advice I would give current students is not to worry. Although it does tend to feel like everyone has a career sorted before they leave, that really is not the case for the majority and it doesn’t mean you won’t end up in your dream job!
If anything, a willingness to adapt, try new things, do your best at whatever option you have facing you at the time, is both a valuable skill to be able to demonstrate to employers and an excellent way to go about finding your ideal career.
If I could go back and give my recent graduate self any advice, I think I would tell myself to work hard, be adventurous and don’t settle.

Leave a Reply

