Case study – Delaney Chambers

What is your nationality?Delaney new

American.

What/when did you study at Durham?

I did a BA in Philosophy and Arabic between 2008 and 2012.

What are you doing now?

I am working for The Atlantic magazine as a Product Manager.

What does your job involve?

I’m a journalist in a broad sense, but more specifically, I work on digital products like interactives and redesigns for The Atlantic’s website. I manage a team of developers, designers and editorial interests and help facilitate collaborations between the different interests. Basically, I act as a translator among all kinds of different aspects of projects to try to tell stories in new and interesting ways. The most recent project I worked on was The Atlantic Photo.

How did your time at Durham help you to succeed?

I work at an intellectual magazine surrounded by very highly educated people, many of whom also studied philosophy at major universities. Without the curiosity and general work ethic instilled in me by a Durham education, I wouldn’t have got as far as I have!

What advice would you give to current students?

I would tell current students to keep in mind what they want to do, and most particularly where they want to be. I would have loved to stay in England, and I didn’t take seriously enough how hard it would be to come back.

Leave a Reply

