Case study – Amal Al-Agroobi

What is your nationality?Amal

Emirati

What/when did you study at Durham?

BSc Biomedical sciences 2004-2007

What are you doing now?

I work for myself. As soon as I came back to my country, having also completed my masters degree in neuroscience, I started working at a hospital in the field of science. But in 2012, I changed my career path and decided to focus on film, my passion. I opened my own production company in 2013. I focus on media work, creating videos for corporate clients but mostly making documentary and fiction films. I’m on a mission to become a world-class director.

What does your job involve?

I produced and directed films so this gives me a chance to be creative, create stories and bring them to life as well as work on the production side and manage the legalities business of filmmaking.

How did your time at Durham help you to succeed?

I was a part of George Stephenson College. One day I shall astonish the world, that is what each one of us should believe and I think about this all the time when I am making my films, it’s a driving force that pushes me to do better all the time. University is very much about the people rather than education but at Durham I received both. Because Durham, or at least the campus that I was on was very small and contained, I learnt to grow up quickly. Everyone on campus became a member of the family, we bonded and helped each other grow learning very important life lessons. Our professors were very close to us and I think this is something special about Durham – when we go through experiences, we go through them together.

What advice would you give to current students?

Just enjoy it. I really do believe that it’s not about the 9-to-5, it’s about the connections you meet and the life experiences you have. Take advantage of all the facilities that the University has to offer. Become a part of people’s groups – venture outside your comfort zone.

Any other information you want to provide?

I was the senior resident in my third year at Durham. This position offered me a stipend. And I thought that this was a wonderful experience. If you get the chance to become a senior resident, I really encourage you to do so. To be able to make your own money while still at uni, adds a totally different dimension to it.

You can find out more about Amal’s projects via her website and social media:

Personal Website: www.amalalagroobi.com
IMDB:
www.imdb.com/name/nm4251438/
Linked in: www.linkedin.com/in/amalalagroobi 

Official film production site:
www.alagroobifilms.com

 

Leave a Reply

