Tiziana’s HR success

Name: Tiziana Ellul
 

Course: Human Resource Management

Graduated: 2009

Nationality: Maltese

Employer: Valletta Fund Services Limited

Current position: Human Resources Representative

After working for five years with the leading Fund Administration Company in Malta, while studying part-time for my undergraduate degree, I decided to further my studies by taking a full-time MA. 

I chose Durham because of the reputation it carries, the rankings, and the multi-cultural student body. Durham Business School also has all the resources and facilities a student needs.

The MA programme has an extensive range of modules. It allows students to get a good understanding of the main business areas together with in-depth knowledge and understanding of HRM.

Although a small town in the North-East of the UK, Durham has its own character and is an ideal place for study. Most of the students within my college were international, which made it easier for me as a foreigner because we all wanted to get to know each other and make friends. Durham and its University offer everything to make a student’s life an enjoyable one. Joining one of the clubs and societies will certainly help students enhance their personal skills. I was appointed onto the Student Staff Consultative Committee and was also elected as the Formal Secretary on the College Committee. Both forums gave me the opportunity to speak on behalf of MA students and give my opinion on various areas which concerned us. 

Having successfully completed my MA, I returned to Malta where I have the role of Human Resources Representative at Valletta Fund Services Limited. My role is to analyse what HR policies and practices need to be introduced within the company, evaluate the options available and implement them in the best possible way. This is not a plain sailing task within any organization; it’s a very challenging role and involves a lot of work. However I am willing to make this a complete success both for the company and for myself. Although I returned to the same employer, I feel I am a completely new employee with a lot more knowledge. The experience I gained during my year in Durham is helping me build confidence and courage to face the new challenges ahead. Obviously learning has to be continuous and this has been a fantastic starting point to my HR career. 

Looking back, Durham University has not only equipped me with great academic knowledge but also an experience of a lifetime which I will cherish all my life.

 
Leave a Reply

