Atiya at Accenture

Name: Atiya Kalim

Course: BA Hons History

 Graduated: 2008

 Nationality: UK/USA 

Current position: Analyst at Accenture

I came to Durham University at the very end of September 2005, having just turned 18 and never having lived anywhere but home. I was the very definition of a fresher. My suitcase weighted down with text books and a new winter coat I came to live out my dream of wandering around the beautiful city of Durham, studying history in the shadows of the medieval castle and cathedral. I arrived excited for the adventure of the three years ahead.

Looking back to those days I would never have imagined that my module choice of Britain as an Economic Superpower would not only lead me to taking a special subject focused on Ecomomic History (London as an International financial centre), but eventually see me working in technology consultancy at Accenture with a bank for a client. The beauty of a history degree, especially one at Durham is that it opens up so many opportunities. The subject is highly analytical and teaches one to quickly get through a high volume of information and also encourages analytical ability. The excellent teaching and support from the professors really lets you explore your own personal interests.

The excellent communication with and support from my professors, as well as the amazing student body that Durham attracts all combined to make Durham an incredible experience. Whilst studying took place more often in the modern library than next to the Cathedral in the end I learnt invaluable life skills. The attention to detail, the time management, the ability to collaborate and respectfully disagree with contemporaries (as long as you have the right support for your point of view) are all tools I use everyday even though I graduated over 3 years ago!

Apart from the department, and the welcoming and encouraging atmosphere therein, I was also a University Rower. As anyone who has been in a boat at 6am can tell you this is a very difficult sport that requires passion and commitment. I met some of my best friends on a freezing cold River Wear, and with determination we went from terribly mal-coordinated to winning the ‘Boat Race of the North’ against Newcastle university. This to me is characteristic of my Durham, anything can be achieved there with effort and support.

Leave a Reply

