Michalski Makes the Moves

Name: Derek Michalski 

Degree: MA Marketing

Graduated: 2011

Nationality: American

Current position: Buyer, General Mills Worldwide Sourcing

Attending Durham Business School opened many doors for me and allowed me to accomplish many exciting things. In my year at Durham I was able to study alongside a very worldly cohort and be introduced to eager young professionals from all over the world.

On the international stage, I found out immediately that a Durham degree was very sought after by many different kinds of professional fields. Every week there were major multi-national companies on campus for recruitment engagements. I knew immediately that the place I was studying was special, and would be very helpful when it came time to begin my professional career.

There are no shortage of activities on campus, and all are welcoming to new participants. There is seemingly endless space to take advantage of the outdoors– with the university’s many playing fields and courts, wooded trails, and recreational facilities. I was fortunate enough to participate on the University Men’s Lacrosse Team with an incredible group of young men, and represent the University in winning a BUCS National Championship. This will always be one of my fondest memories of my time in Durham.

Upon completion of my studies at Durham Business School I was able to land a job immediately with a Fortune 100 company and one of the world’s largest food companies at General Mills. It is my belief that my experience living internationally and conversations regarding my postgraduate studies abroad is a major contributing factor to what made my story unique from other prospective candidates. For that, I am very appreciative of the program and look forward to the day that I will be able to return to Durham.

If you are an overseas student looking for a challenging course of study in an environment that is both very different than what you are accustomed to and unsurpassed in terms of its scenic beauty and historical significance—than look no further than Durham University.

One thought on “Michalski Makes the Moves

Leave a Reply

