Accounting success for Carol

Name: Carol Liu

Degree: Accounting & Finance BSc

Graduated: 2009

Nationality: Chinese

Employer: PwC

I have been interested in accountancy for many years. My interest was sparked by a visit with a friend to PricewaterhouseCoopers in Beijing. I found out more about the work they do and decided to apply for my course at Durham. I knew success required great dedication, so in my 1st year I visited the Careers Employability and Enterprise Centre for advice about gaining relevant experience. I was offered a place on the 3 day ‘Insight’ programme at PwC where I learned about the company, work activities and the working culture in the UK. The staff encouraged me to apply for the summer internship the following year and I was delighted when I was invited to attend for an interview and some tests. The Careers Advisers at university helped me to prepare and the day after the interview I was offered a place in the corporate tax department.

This was an amazing experience. I learnt so much about the profession from experienced accountants and attended many client meetings. My enthusiasm was rewarded because at the end of the internship I was offered a graduate position in taxation with PwC in Leeds.

I have been with PwC for 2 years now and have completed my ACA exams. I have worked with some interesting clients and my career has really developed as I am now a Senior Corporate Tax Associate.

To help future international students I would advise them to plan carefully and never give up. Also speak as much English as possible while at University. I had many English friends and this helped me to succeed in the interview.

Leave a Reply

