From MA in Education to Lecturer post

Name: Nguyen Thi Thu Huyen

Degree: MA Education

Graduation year: 2009

Nationality: Vietnamese

Employer: Ho Chi Minh City

University of Education, Vietnam

 I am really proud of being a graduate of Durham University – one of the oldest universities in the UK in one of the most beautiful cities with the famous Durham Cathedral. I received enthusiastic support from the lecturers and other staff in the School of Education and was able to settle down quickly and study effectively during my time at Durham. I had a chance to join all of the free English classes in the Language Centre of the University, which helped me to improve my English quickly. The Library in the School of Education was amazing and I could easily find all the required resources.

With the master’s degree and experience of studying in the UK, I quickly found a job back Vietnam. I have applied my new knowledge and skills in my work as a lecturer in my current role at Ho Chi Minh City University of Education. My students always ask me about living and studying in the UK and I am happy to promote Durham University to them. If I have a chance to return to Durham to study for my PhD I will not hesitate for a moment. It would be my dream come true.

Leave a Reply

