Elena is in control at Johnson Controls

Name: Elena Popova

Degree: MA in Management 2010

Nationality: Bulgarian

Job: Graduate Trainee in Facilities Management

Employer: Johnson Controls, UK

 After graduation I did a six month internship in social media marketing with a start up company in London called BraveNewTalent. This gave me time to research and I decided that applying for graduate programmes would be the best start for me.

After a long search, I found my perfect employer. I applied successfully for the graduate trainee position in Facilities Management at Johnson Controls, a global diversified technology and industrial leader serving customers in more than 150 countries. This involves continuous training and three 6 month placements in different parts of the business which demand innovative and creative thinking. There are excellent opportunities for growth and development. I have been here for almost five months now and have learnt so much and really enjoyed myself.

My advice for everyone who is looking for a job is to be persistent, attend career fairs and presentations and use the university careers centre. Do not to give up at the first hurdle, let your contacts and friends know that you are looking for a job and keep applying!

Leave a Reply

