Peter’s LLM success

Name: Yudong Zhai (Peter)

Graduated: 2009

Nationality: Chinese

Degree: LLM in International Trade and Commercial Law

Employer: King and Wood PRC Lawyers, Beijing, China

Durham University Law School offers excellent opportunities to learn the most developed theories in the Common Law system. However, the Career Centre gave me great help to find a job. They helped me to improve my CV and prepare for assessment days.  I applied for and attended open days at Norton Rose, Barlow Lyde & Gilbert LLP and Macfarlanes LLP and completed a vacation scheme at Barlow Lyde & Gilbert LLP. I learned about the operation mode and expertise of English firms and decided to use my experience and education to pursue a legal career in China. I believe this enhanced my employability as I was offered a position by one of the biggest law firms in China- King and Wood. Now I am working in the Corporate Team at the ShenZhen Office. Although it has been less than a year since I started working here, I have already assisted in 4 IPO cases and 7 M&A cases. The excellent experiences at Durham and rapid development in China provided me with the opportunity to make my dream come true.

Leave a Reply

