Namali’s RBS success

Name: Namali Goonetillake

Course and year:

BA Economics

(final year)

Nationality: Sri Lankan

Employer: RBS, London

In my first year at Durham university, I discovered the importance of doing an internship in order to secure a graduate position.  Therefore, I interned at KPMG for two months, which gave me an insight as to how an accountancy firm functioned. Soon after completing it, I began to apply for last summer’s internship intake as soon as applications were opened.
For this, I sought the help of the Careers, Employability and Enterprise Centre where all my questions were answered and my doubts were cleared. I completed practice online tests and discussed probable questions for my interviews and activities at the assessment days.
I strongly believe that my extra-curricular activities as well as my experiences at university helped me to be successful in my endeavours. I have played water polo for the university team, and rowed for my college. I applied my financial knowledge in the role of treasurer for the charities committee and have also worked at the college bar. I used examples of the skills gained from these experiences to my advantage in order to secure the internship I was vying for. The Careers Advisers also assisted me in my final decision to choose between the internships I was offered, as there was plenty of material from Durham graduates who had provided feedback on their experiences.

At the end of my ten-week internship at the Corporate Banking division at RBS, I was offered a place on their graduate program starting this September (conditional upon achieving a 2.1). The process of applying for an internship was tedious. However it definitely paid off in the end, as I didn’t have to apply for a job during my final (and busiest!) year- so don’t give up when the going gets tough!

Leave a Reply

