From Vietnam to Southampton with Deloitte

Name:  Hillary Nguyen

Degree: BA Business Economics

Graduated: 2009

Nationality: Vietnamese

Employer: Deloitte, Southampton, UK

 My wish was to work in the UK after graduation, and I was fully aware that this would require great determination and effort. Therefore, I started researching graduate jobs in my first year. I applied for an Audit graduate position at Deloitte in my second year via the Fast Track event, in which two interviews and an assessment centre were held on the same day. In order to prepare for this difficult task I visited the Careers, Employability and Enterprise Centre for information on interview skills and feedback from previous applicants. I also did more searches on wikijob where students shared details of similar experiences. Participating in different social activities and working part-time at university helped me improve employability skills that were assessed during the interviews. I was offered the job shortly after. This meant I could focus on study and enjoy uni-life in my final year without the stress of job hunting during a recession.

I have been with the firm for 18 months and completed the professional stage of the ACA qualification. I really enjoy working in different industries with colleagues from diverse backgrounds. It has been a very steep learning curve and there are always new things to learn since I was a new joiner up to now working as a senior associate. It is definitely challenging and hard work but rewarding at the same time as it equips me with a wide range of valuable employability skills.

Leave a Reply

